Not-quite-planned hiatus

It’s been quite a while since my last post, and I wanted to apologize for that. I’ve been trying to justify my existence as a graduate student so they’ll let me go back to Antarctica next year, y’see. Happily I managed to pass my prelim exam (a presentation on the work I did in Antarctica, followed by an hour or so of gentle interrogation by my advisors and several department profs.)

Now I am quite done with classwork for the quarter, and I’m hoping to get into the habit of posting more often, on the theory that I can build up enough momentum to keep going even when I get into next quarter and am once again burdened with problem sets and term papers. I have a post in the works about the McMurdo sewage treatment facility and water plant, and I’ll be talking a bit more about my research and various interesting icy topics.

Here’s a preview of the McMurdo sewage plant:



It doesn't smell nearly so much as you would expect.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

